The High Man Tour 3
The demesne consists of the ancient townlands of Kilmainham, Ardgillan and Baltray. The district was originally controlled by the Gaelic O'Casey family and later the Earl of Tyrconnell. However, the period 1600 - 1700 saw great changes in the pattern of land ownership in Ireland due to the confiscation and redistribution of land after the Cromwellian and Williamite wars (1640's and 1680's respectively).
Although referred to as a Castle, the residence at Ardgillan is a large country-style house with castellated embellishments. Originally named "Prospect", the central section was built in 1738 by Robert Taylor, with the west and east wings added in the late 1700's.
Initially the site was heavily wooded, the name Ardgillan being derived from the Irish "Ard Choill" meaning High Wood. It was cleared by out-of-service soldiers and itinerant workers in return for one penny a day, sleeping accommodation and one meal.
The house consists of two storeys over a basement which extends out under the lawns on the southern side of the building. When occupied, the ground and first floors were the living accommodation while the west and east wings were servants quarters and estate offices. The basement was the service floor, the kitchen and stores. The castle has now been restored and the ground floor rooms and kitchens are open to visitors for guided tours. Tea-rooms are located off the main reception area and serving light snacks are open in conjunction with the Castle opening times. Upstairs, the former bedrooms are used for classes and exhibitions including a permanent and unique exhibition of the "Down Survey" colour maps and text.
Newbridge House is a very fine example of a true Georgian mansion within Newbridge Demesne Regional Park. It was built by Archbishop Charles Cobbe in 1736 and remained the family home of the Cobbe family until 1985 when it was acquired by the County Council.
* The Red Drawing Room is possibly the finest apartment featuring a beautiful white marble chimney piece and rococo plaster ceiling attributed to William Stuccoman
Beaulieu House is a very special place, home to the same family since 1650, a true gem and rare survivor of Irelands Heritage. A leading tourist attraction in county Louth situated within the heart of the Boyne Valley.
The eighteenth century saw the construction of classically inspired country houses, dispersed throughout the county. Set in fertile agricultural land, these houses were at the centre of estate lands whose wealth was derived from the production of livestock and crops, which found ready markets at the industrial centres and ports of Drogheda and Dundalk. Many landowners employed architects to build imposing country houses, suitable to their wealth and status. Fortunately many of these have survived and retain much of their character and charm.
The Battle of the Boyne between King William III and his father-in-law, King James II, was fought on 1 July 1690 (11 July according to our modern calendar). Both kings commanded their armies in person, 36,000 on the Williamite side and 25,000 on the Jacobite side - the largest number of troops ever deployed on an Irish battlefield. At stake were the British throne, French dominance in Europe and Religious power in Ireland.
Location: The Visitor Centre is located on the South bank of the River Boyne, 4km north of Donore Village off the M1 Motorway and L21.
Seasonal Events: For up to date Living History details and other events visit www.battleoftheboyne.ie for updates.
A very special place, Tankardstown House and Courtyard Cottages is a proud member of Ireland's Blue Book and has been voted "One of the top houses to rent in the British Isles" the only one included in Ireland in the Conde Nast Annual Awards. It is located only 40 minutes north of Dublin Airport outside of the village of Slane, Co. Meath.
The Main House has 6 individual Heritage rooms, drawing room, sitting room, library and cosy bar. A further 12 bedrooms are available in the Courtyard Cottages surrounding a tranquil fountain in the old stables. Guests can also enjoy dinner in Brabazon Restaurant situated a short stroll down the courtyard. Reasons to be tempted...........
Slane Castle has been in Henry Mount Charles' family since 1701. King George IV of England was romantically involved with Henry's great, great, great, great grandmother, Elizabeth. Since the King traveled the road from Dublin to Slane when he visited, it is considered no coincidence that it is one of the straightest roads in all of Ireland.
Slane Castle Irish Whiskey has been specially created for Henry, the Eighth Marquess Conyngham, head of the Conyngham family that, since 1701, have lived in Slane Castle by the banks of the mystical river Boyne which flows beneath the famous Hill of Slane where St. Patrick lit his paschal fire.